Xbox pads under Fedora 24

After the release of Rocket League beta for Linux, I decided to install Steam under Fedora 24 and try it out.

The Xbox controller driver is not installed by default. Get it via

sudo dnf install kernel-modules-extra

Apparently the SteamOS variant of the xpad driver has some additions the normal kernel driver does not (yet) have.

To install it:

  1. Uninstall kernel-modules-extra (if installed; the upstream driver conflicts with the SteamOS version):
    sudo dnf -y remove kernel-modules-extra
  2. Enable negativo17’s Steam repo:
    sudo dnf config-manager --add-repo=http://negativo17.org/repos/fedora-steam.repo
  3. Install the dkms-xpad driver:
    sudo dnf -y install dkms-xpad kernel-devel
  4. Build the kernel module:
    sudo dkms install -m xpad/4.1

Not sure if I did a sudo modprobe xpad afterwards but now it works. Have fun.

5 thoughts on “Xbox pads under Fedora 24”

  1. Are you able to connect to rocket league servers just fine? I’m using Fedora 24 and I’m unable to connect to their servers. I did some troubleshooting by temporally disabling my firewall and SELinux, I forwarded proper ports on my router, I’m in the correct regions, I also look through their logs to no avail.

    Did you have to do anything special to get it working? Also, what kernel are you running, I’m on 4.6.3-300.fc24.x86_64.

    1. The CA certificate bundle is in a different location in RHEL, SUSE and their cousins than on Debian and its cousins.

      Run `sudo ln -s /etc/ssl/certs/ca-bundle.crt /etc/ssl/certs/ca-certificates.crt ` then you will be able to connect.

Comments are closed.